Time Freeze

frozen_time_by_isachabe

Photo credit: Google

It’s July already! Time is moving incredibly too quickly. I’ve completed a month at my internship and only have 30 days remaining. I’m sad to think about leaving because I’m having such a great experience. At the same time I am slightly excited to start the 2nd year of grad school and continue preparing for the job search. I’m sure when it actually is happening I won’t feel the same.

Reflecting on the past month, I don’t even know where the time went. I feel I’ve learned so much and met so many wonderful people. I’ve participated in many SA and SL chats on Twitter, SA socials and visiting numerous campuses in the NYC area. All of the conversations and interactions I’ve had with fellow interns and professionals have been energizing me to continue thinking about my future. (One of my top five strengths is Futuristic, so I am almost always thinking towards the future) I’ve been thinking a lot about what I will be looking for in my first professional experience. As great as picking up and moving to the opposite coast may sound to some people, it’s not very realistic for me right now. My focus this summer has been to really dig deep and figure out what I want and what I need to do from now until then to get there.

The past month I have also engaged in a lot of self-care. I think I tend to do pretty well with this usually, but I’ve fully been taking advantage of my summer. I’ve been doing a lot more reading, researching, journaling, going to the gym, relaxing and other things that make me feel calm. Deciding to start this blog was another step in my self-care. I wanted to find activities that I could channel my energy to and feel productive about it. So far, it’s going well.

Lastly, to expand my blogging and improve on my writing I am challenging myself to a 31 Day Society Development Blog Challenge. I saw my friend post about it and I figured why not. Each day you post a blog about the pre-selected topic with your opinions. You can relate it to your career, personal experiences, and include how someone can improve in that area. Below is a list of the topics if you’d like to try it out yourself.

31 Day Blog Challenge:

1. Initiative Development

2. Time Management

3. Self-Identity

4. Getting to Know Yourself

5. Goal Setting

6. Community Engagement

7. Diversity Development

8. Partnership

9. Followership

10. Leadership

11. Why a Resume

12. Important Resume Requirements

13. Things to Take Off a Resume

14. Why Social Media

15. Why LinkedIn

16. The Theory of Exceptional Professional Development

17. What Level of Education is Needed

18. Short-Term Plan

19. Long-Term Plan

20. The Importance of Physical Conditioning

21. Proper Nutrition

22. Finding Your Passion

23. Paying it Forward

24. The Importance of Rest

25. The Importance of Hobbies

26. The Balance of Fun

27. Importance of Saving Money

28. Importance of Saving Money Long-Term

29. Treating Yourself

30. The Factors of Traveling

31. Take a Vacation